Pulitzer-winning Tribune-BGA collection receives 4 awards from Chicag…

Pulitzer-winning Tribune-BGA collection receives 4 awards from Chicag…

A collection of tales by the Tribune and the Higher Authorities Affiliation about lax security practices amongst Chicago fireplace officers — which on Monday was awarded a Pulitzer Prize — was amongst a number of Tribune works of journalism that have been honored Friday by the Chicago Headline Membership.

The Tribune-BGA collaboration, “The Failures Earlier than the Fires,” obtained 4 awards on the Headline Membership’s forty fifth annual Peter Lisagor Awards dinner on the Union League Membership of Chicago: finest investigative reporting, finest multimedia collaboration, finest investigative/public service on-line reporting and finest use of reports video on-line. It was awarded a Pulitzer for native reporting.

Reporters Cecilia Reyes of the Tribune and Madison Hopkins of the BGA revealed that not less than 61 males, girls and kids died in 42 fires in buildings the place Chicago officers had been warned — usually repeatedly — of main fireplace issues of safety. In addition they documented systemic shortfalls in Chicago’s constructing enforcement program, revealing a convoluted system of casual guidelines, outdated information and lax oversight that put the pursuits of landlords above the security of tenants. Lots of the metropolis’s failures, the reporters discovered, immediately contributed to the deaths.

Along with Hopkins and Reyes, others named within the awards have been Kaarin Tisue, Armando Sanchez, Jonathon Berlin and Andrew Johnston from the Tribune, and David Kidwell, Olivia Obineme and Alex Garcia from the BGA.

Tribune staffers additionally have been introduced Lisagor awards for function reporting, images, lifetime achievement and reporting “of odd individuals.”

Reporter Madeline Buckley obtained the distinguished Anne Keegan Award, named for a legendary Tribune author who died in 2011. The award is given to a journalist “who tells tales of odd individuals in extraordinary well-reported and well-written prose.” Buckley is the seventh Tribune reporter to win the award.

Buckley’s award-winning work included tales on the aftermath of a deadly capturing of a faculty pupil on the CTA Inexperienced Line, a Holocaust survivor whose household couldn’t go to her whereas she was recovering from COVID-19 in a nursing dwelling, and a beloved meals pantry volunteer who was hospitalized for 9 months with COVID-19.

A two-part collection that defined how stolen firearms from a burglarized gun store in Superior, Wisconsin, have been used to terrorize Chicago for greater than a yr received the very best function collection award, introduced to Tribune reporters Jeremy Gorner, Annie Sweeney and Rose Sobol and photographer E. Jason Wambsgans.

The reporting targeted on one of many firearms, a 9 mm Glock 17 handgun, that alone was linked to 27 shootings — a path of destruction that left two individuals useless and 22 others wounded. Authorities consider that could possibly be probably the most shootings ever linked to a single gun in Chicago by means of a ballistic imaging program administered by federal regulation enforcement. The collection additionally surveyed the neighborhoods and the individuals most affected by the gun’s use.

Wambsgans additionally received for finest images and for finest photograph for images of civil rights chief the Rev. Jesse Jackson on the event of his eightieth birthday.

Former Tribune columnist and reporter Dahleen Glanton was introduced a Lifetime Achievement Award. Glanton began on the Tribune in 1989 and left the paper final yr. The Headline Membership famous that as a columnist, she “addressed a wide range of topics however made a specialty of encouraging dialogue on race, poverty and violence.” She was additionally the Tribune’s Atlanta bureau chief and coated main tales that included Hurricane Katrina, President Barack Obama’s 2008 election and navy households in the course of the Iraq Warfare.

WLS-AM 890 reporter Invoice Cameron, who grew to become “Dean of the Metropolis Corridor Pressroom” in a half-century of radio reporting in Chicago, additionally obtained a lifetime achievement award. Cameron coated 9 Chicago mayors.

The Lisagor Awards, established in 1977, are named for Peter Lisagor, Washington bureau chief for the Chicago Each day Information from 1959 to 1976.